WYSD_05_Therapeutic_12v2.jpg

Nocturnal Acid Reflux

At night, acid reflux can cause distress to patients resulting from symptoms such as heartburn. It may also affect the sleep quality of patients or trigger insomnia. Besides prescription medicine, clinical studies have shown that sleeping on the left side with the upper body raised can also improve acid reflux.

WYSD_Therapeutic_02_icon.png

The prevalence of GERD is 3.8%. It is estimated 200,000 adults in Hong Kong have weekly GERD symptoms

WYSD_05_Therapeutic_aniamtion.gif
WYSD_Therapeutic_03_icon.png

79% GERD patients reported experiencing heartburn at night

WYSD_Therapeutic_04_icon.png

About 30% GERD patients remain symptomatic while receiving daily medication

WYSD_sleeptestbutton_sleepapnea.png

Nocturnal Acid Reflux

whats_your_sleep_disorder - 03 ZZ icon.p
Acid reflux, also known as gastroesophageal reflux. When acid reflux becomes a long-term condition and happens more frequently, it may become Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease (GERD). GERD is a chronic digestive system disorder.

Causes of Acid Reflux

whats_your_sleep_disorder - 03 ZZ icon.p

People often misunderstand that acid reflux is caused by excess stomach acid. In fact, acid reflux is mainly caused by our poor eating habits, such as eating irregularly, eating too fast, eating before bed, etc., and cause the relaxation of the lower esophageal sphincter (LES), which is a valve (a ring of muscle) between our esophagus and stomach. Under normal and healthy conditions, the LES only opens briefly during eating to allow food to enter the stomach, or from time to time after meals to allow stomach gas to escape; at other times, the LES closes to prevent the food and gastric acid in the stomach flow back up into the esophageal.
Other causes of acid reflux include stress, obesity, smoking, wearing tight clothes around your stomach, etc. In addition, hormonal changes during pregnancy are also one of the causes of acid reflux in pregnant women. If you want to learn more about the causes of acid reflux, please keep reading:

(A) Bad Eating Habits

People living in cities often eating irregularly, and the fast pace of life makes everyone eat in a hurry. Therefore, the stomach fails to adjust the level of gastric acid secretion in time, and it is more likely to have acid reflux. In addition, eating and drinking too much (even not frequently, only occasionally), it will also increase the burden on the stomach, increase gastric pressure, strain our LES, also make it easy for the food and gastric acid in the stomach leak out. Besides, eating before bed can also increase the risk of night-time acid reflux. This is because the stomach will secrete gastric acid during the digestion process, the LES will open again when the stomach gas needs to be released after eating; moreover, due to the influence of gravity when we sleeping on the back, the gastric acid will more easily flow back up to the esophageal. Therefore, it is best not to sit or lie on the sofa immediately after eating, you can stand up for 15-30 minutes to allow the stomach have time and space to digest, which will also help reduce belly fat. 

(B) Food Choices

If you often eat greasy, high-salt, heavy spices, spicy and other indigestible or irritating foods, the stomach not only needs to secrete more gastric acid, but also need longer gastric acid secretion time to complete the whole digestion process, and it is more likely to produce stomach gas, which would  prolong the opening and relaxation time of the LES, and even weaken the function of the LES, so that the risk of acid reflux will naturally increase.

(C) Beverage Choices

In addition to paying attention to the choice of food, the choice of beverages should not be ignored, because coffee, strong tea, alcohol, carbonated beverages, acidic beverages, etc., all of the above may increase the production of gastric acid and stomach gas, causing the problem of acid reflux.

(D) Obesity

Obesity is also one of the common causes of acid reflux, especially central obesity. Due to the influence of gravity, the belly will be pressed against the stomach when we sleeping on the back. When the abdominal pressure increases and the stomach is compressed, the force of gastric acid reflux into the esophagus will increase, and the LES will need more strength to prevent the occurrence of acid reflux. In the long run, the LES may damage and becomes loose, and the frequency of acid reflux will increase.

(E) Age

As we grow older, many functions of our body will weaken, and our digestive system is no exception. The LES may become unbalanced, and resulting in the problem of acid reflux.

(F) Smoking and Drinking

As mentioned earlier, the mucosa of the esophagus is not the same as the mucosa of the stomach. The mucosa of the esophagus cannot withstand gastric acid stimulation, and we swallow saliva from time to time is to neutralize the acidity of the esophagus. However, smoking will decrease our saliva secretion, also increase our gastric acid secretion and cause the relaxation of our LES. In such a situation, it’s not only worsened the problem of acid reflux, but it also increases the risk of acid damage to the esophagus. In addition, alcohol can also produce gastric acids and stomach gas. Therefore, if you have the habit of smoking and drinking at the same time, they are very likely to be one of the main reasons why you are suffering acid reflux.

(G) Pregnancy

In fact, many pregnant women have acid reflux problem. This is due to the hormonal changes during pregnancy. The increase in progesterone secretion slows down gastrointestinal motility and makes food stay in the stomach longer. In addition, the increase in estrogen concentration will also cause the LES to relax, allowing gastric acid to easily flow back up into the esophagus, and causing acid reflux. Furthermore, the increasing size of the fetus in the later stages of pregnancy will also increase the risk of acid reflux, because the enlarged uterus has the opportunity to squeeze upward to the stomach, which may be more serious when sleep on the back. Therefore, many pregnant women choose side sleeping pillows to help them sleep on their left side, in order to reduce the burden on the stomach and improve the problem of acid reflux during sleep.

Acid Reflux Solution

whats_your_sleep_disorder - 03 ZZ icon.p

For the treatment of acid reflux (GERD), taking prescription drugs is the current first-line treatment. Patients also need to improve their poor eating and daily habits to help improve the problem of acid reflux. In addition, according to clinical studies, 60% of patients with obstructive sleep apnea have night-time acid reflux, and the use of CPAP can help reduce the occurrence of night-time acid reflux by nearly half. For more acid reflux solutions, please keep reading:

(A) Medication Therapy

The most familiar solution to acid reflux must be medication therapy. Drugs prescribed by doctors, such as Proton Pump Inhibitors (PPI), Antacid (neutralizes stomach acidity), etc., are used to control gastric acid secretion, reduce the occurrence of acid reflux, and relieve the symptoms of acid reflux. Patients need regular follow-up visits to check whether the dosage of the drug needs to be adjusted. If the acid reflux persists after taking the drugs, it may also be necessary to take the drugs for a long time. As you know, medication therapy for acid reflux just cures the symptoms but not the root cause. Therefore, the most ideal solution to acid reflux still needs to be combined with good eating and daily habits.

(B) Eating Habits

No matter how busy your daily life is, you should try to eat regularly to keep the gastric acid secretion stable; don’t eat too fast or too full, eating mall frequent meals, each meal should be about 70% full, so as not to increase the burden on the stomach or cause excessive pressure in the stomach, resulting in damage to the LES. In addition, you should avoid eating 2-3 hours before going to bed, especially high fiber foods. You should also avoid sitting or lying down to rest immediately after meals. It is recommended to take a walk after meals to help digestion and provide enough time for the stomach to complete the whole digestion process, reducing the risk that the grastric acid (which secreted during the digestion process) will flow back up into the esophagus by lying down. Then, you should also reduce the consumption of greasy and irritating foods, as well as the consumption of carbonated beverages, caffeinated and alcoholic beverages, etc., can also help improve the problem of acid reflux.

(C) Daily Habits

If you have the habit of smoking, of course, it is best to quit smoking. Quit smoking will help to control gastric acid, improve saliva secretion, and strengthen the LES. In addition, frequent wearing tight clothes should also be avoided, in order to improve acid reflux caused by stomach pressure. Furthermore, changed the sleeping posture is also one of the night-time acid reflux solutions recommended by medical professionals. Sleeping on the left side or/and slightly tilting the upper body to raise the LES higher than the stomach will help prevent the gastric acid flow back up into the esophagus.

(D) Weight Management

If you are overweight and have central obesity problem, it is recommended to lose belly fat through dietary management and regular exercise, in order to reduce the pressure on the stomach caused by the big belly, as well as reducing the occurrence of acid reflux caused by the stomach pressure. If you want to improve the problem of night-time acid reflux during weight loss, you can sleep on the left side. This can not only improve the problem of stomach pressure caused by big belly when you sleeping on the back, it can also make the LES higher than the stomach, which is recommended by medical professionals as a solution to night-time acid reflux.

(E) Surgery

Surgery is an invasive solution to acid reflux, unless your condition is severe and cannot be controlled with prescribed drugs, or you do not want to take long-term medication to control your acid reflux problem, or your acid reflux problem cannot be solved even you changed your eating and daily habits, then you should consider surgery such as fundoplication, in order to tighten the LES, increase the resistance between the stomach and the esophagus, so as to reduce acid reflux.

whats_your_sleep_disorder - 03 ZZ icon.p
Learn more about the solutions for nighttime acid reflux: Reflux Relief Pillow, Therapeutic Body Pillow.

The information above is for reference only, you should consult your doctor if you have any health concern.

 

References: [1] Person E, Rife C, Freeman J, Clark A, Castell DO. A Novel Sleep Positioning Device Reduces Gastroesophageal Reflux: A Randomized Controlled Trial. J Clin Gastroenterol. 2015;49(8):655-659. [2] Tan VP, Wong BC, Wong WM, et al. Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease: Cross-Sectional Study Demonstrating Rising Prevalence in a Chinese Population. J Clin Gastroenterol. 2016;50(1):e1-e7. [3] Shaker R, Castell DO, Schoenfeld PS, Spechler SJ. Nighttimeheartburn is an under-appreciated clinical problem that impacts sleep and daytime function: the results of a Gallup survey conducted on behalf ofthe American Gastroenterological Association. Am J Gastroenterol. 2003;98(7):1487-1493. [4] Vaezi MF, Fass R, Vakil N, et al. IW-3718 Reduces HeartburnSeverity in Patients With Refractory Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease in a Randomized Trial. Gastroenterology. 2020;158(8):2093-2103. [5] Green BT, Broughton WA, O'Connor JB. Marked improvement in nocturnal gastroesophageal reflux in a large cohort of patients with obstructive sleep apnea treated with continuous positive airwaypressure. Arch Intern Med. 2003;163(1):41-45.

Acid Reflux - FAQs

WYSD_05_Therapeutic_12v2.jpg

​夜間胃酸倒流

夜間胃酸倒流導致的問題頗多,例如火燒心、酸水上湧,又或者因胸悶而致半夜驚醒等一類症狀,這統統令患者大受困擾,其睡眠質素自然轉差,甚至出現失眠。這情況患者除要服用處方藥物外,根據臨床研究顯示,如果胃酸倒流患者於睡覺時乃作左側睡及稍稍作抬高上半身的姿勢,對解決胃酸倒流也是十分有效的解決方法。

WYSD_Therapeutic_02_icon.png

以患病率3.8%計算,估計超過200,000香港成年人每星期都有胃食道反流病症狀

WYSD_05_Therapeutic_aniamtion.gif
WYSD_Therapeutic_03_icon.png

79%胃食道反流病患者表示於晚上有火燒心症狀

WYSD_Therapeutic_04_icon.png

30%胃食道反流病人士每天接受治療後仍然出現胃酸倒流症狀

WYSD_sleeptestbutton_sleepapnea.png

夜間胃酸倒流是什麼?

whats_your_sleep_disorder - 03 ZZ icon.p

「胃食道反流」俗稱「胃酸倒流」。當胃酸倒流情況持續一段長時間,並且越發頻密,一星期出現一次或以上,便有機會演變成「胃食道反流病」(GERD)。

胃食道反流病是一種慢性消化系統疾病,最常見症狀為「心燒心」。胃酸倒流成因是由於食道構造有別於胃壁,食道不能承受強酸,所以當胃內酸性物質倒流入食道時,患者就會感到從胃部擴散至胸腔及咽喉的灼熱感覺。其他症狀包括胸口疼痛、腹脹、嘔酸水、持續喉嚨痛或咳嗽、吞嚥疼痛及聲音沙啞等。

 

另外,胃酸倒流在睡覺時發生的機會較大,這是由於我們仰臥睡眠時,胃酸會較容易反流至食道;加上睡眠時胃的排空速度會減慢,口水的分泌亦會減少,令中和胃酸的能力下降,形成胃酸倒流成因。夜間胃酸倒流不但影響患者的睡眠質素,使患者於睡眠中扎醒;反流的胃酸會刺激甚至損害食道黏膜,長期更可引發食道炎及食道潰瘍,增加患上食道癌的風險。

胃酸倒流成因

whats_your_sleep_disorder - 03 ZZ icon.p

大眾經常誤以為胃酸倒流成因是由於胃酸過多,其實胃酸倒流主要來自我們食道及胃部之間的「下食道括約肌」(LES)因不良的飲食習慣而變得鬆弛,例如:食無定時、進食過急、睡前進食等等。在正常健康的情況下,下食道括約肌只會在我們進食期間短暫張開,使食物可以進入胃部,或者不時在飯後張開,讓胃氣釋出;而在其他時間,下食道括約肌則會關上,以防止胃內的食物及胃液反流到食道。其他胃酸倒流成因更包括:壓力、肥胖、經常穿著緊身衣物、有吸煙習慣等等;此外,懷孕期間荷爾蒙改變亦是導致孕婦胃酸倒流成因之一。如果想深入了解其他胃酸倒流成因,請繼續看下去:

1. 不良飲食習慣

都市人經常食無定時,急促的生活節奏讓大家進食的速度也比較匆忙,胃部因而未能及時調節胃酸分泌的水平,就會較容易出現胃酸上湧的情況;此外,食自助餐或放題時大吃大喝,亦會加劇胃部負擔,令胃壓增加,導致下食道括約肌造成勞損,使胃酸及胃內的東西容易湧出來;最後,睡前進食亦會增加胃酸倒流在睡覺時出現的風險,這是由於消化過程中胃部會分泌出胃酸,吃飽需要釋出胃氣時,下食道括約肌又會張開,再加上躺臥睡覺時受地心吸力影響,胃酸便會更容易從胃部倒流至食道,形成胃酸倒流成因。所以,吃飽後最好不要即時坐或躺在梳化上,可以先站立15-30分鐘讓胃部進行消化,這不只是胃酸倒流解決方法,亦可以有助改善大肚腩的問題。

2. 食物的選擇

如果經常進食油膩、高鹽分、重香料、辛辣等難消化或刺激性食物,胃部不但需要分泌較多的胃酸,同時胃酸分泌的時間亦會較長,才能完成消化程序,更會容易產生胃氣,使下食道括約肌張開及放鬆的時間變長,甚至令下食道括約肌的功能減弱,這樣胃酸倒流症狀以及風險自然會增加。

3. 飲品的選擇

除了注重食物的選擇外,飲品的選擇也不容忽視,因為咖啡、濃茶,酒精、炭酸飲品、酸性果汁等等,均有機會增加胃酸及胃氣產生,引發胃酸倒流的問題。

4. 肥胖

肥胖也是常見的胃酸倒流成因之一,特別是中央肥胖,即是肚腩比較大的人。由於肚腩會增加腹部壓力,躺臥睡覺時更會受地心吸力影響壓向胃部,當胃部受壓,胃酸回流至食道的力度就會增加,下食道括約肌就需要更大的力量才能阻止胃酸倒流的情況發生,長遠對下食道括約肌造成傷害、變得鬆弛,屆時胃酸倒流症狀的頻率便會隨之增多。

5. 年齡

隨年紀增長,身體機能很多時都會隨之減弱,我們的消化系統也不例外,下食道括約肌有機會因此而出現失調,導致出現胃酸倒流的問題。

6. 煙酒

文章早段也提及過,食道的黏膜與胃部的黏膜並不相同,食道的黏膜不能承受胃酸刺激,而我們日常不時吞口水其實有中和食道酸性的作用,但吸煙卻會令我們口水分泌減少、胃酸分泌增多,並且令下食道括約肌放鬆,在這樣的情況下,不但胃酸倒流症狀加劇,更有可能增加胃酸侵害食道的風險。此外,酒精亦會產生胃酸及胃氣,所以如果您同時有吸煙及飲酒的習慣,煙酒很大機會就是您胃酸倒流成因之一。

7. 懷孕

其實很多孕婦都有胃酸倒流症狀,這是由於懷孕期間荷爾蒙改變,黃體素分泌增加讓腸胃蠕動變慢,使食物停留在胃部時間變長;另外,雌激素濃度上升亦會導致下食道括約肌變得鬆弛,令胃酸容易反流至食道,造成胃酸倒流。此外,懷孕後期胎兒體積漸大亦會增加胃酸上湧的風險,因為子宮變大有機會向上擠壓到胃部,躺下睡眠時情況可能更加嚴重,因此很多孕婦都會選用側睡枕以左側睡減輕肚子負擔及改善睡覺時胃酸倒流的症狀。

胃酸倒流解決方法

whats_your_sleep_disorder - 03 ZZ icon.p

要治療或者舒緩胃酸倒流,服用處方藥物為目前第一線的治療方案。患者亦需從日常生活入手,改善不良飲食習慣,以助改善胃酸倒流的症狀。此外,根據臨床研究顯示,60%阻塞性睡眠窒息患者有夜間睡覺胃酸倒流的問題,而使用呼吸機有助減少接近一半的夜間胃酸倒流發生次數。如果想了解更多胃酸倒流解決方法,請繼續看下去:

1. 藥物治療

最為人熟悉的胃酸倒流解決方法一定是藥物治療,透過醫生處方的藥物,如:胃酸泵抑制劑 (PPI)、中和胃酸藥 (Antacid) 等等,以控制胃酸分泌量,減低發生胃酸倒流的機會,有效舒緩胃酸倒流不適症狀,患者需要定期覆診檢查是否需要調整藥物劑量,如果服藥後胃酸倒流情況持續,亦有可能需要長期服藥。但藥物治療始終治標不治本,最理想的胃酸倒流解決方法還是需要配合日常的生活及飲食習慣。

2. 飲食習慣

即使日常生活多繁忙,亦應盡量定時進食,讓胃酸分泌穩定;不要吃太急、吃太飽,少食多餐,每餐大約七分飽就好,以免胃部負擔及胃內壓力過大,導致下食道括約肌造成勞損。此外,應避免睡前2-3小時進食,特別是纖維較多或難消化的食物,飯後亦應避免即時坐下或躺下休息,建議飯後散步以促進消化,同時提供足夠的時間給胃部完成消化過程,減少在消化過程中所分泌的胃酸因躺下而反流至食道的機會。然後,減少進食油膩及刺激性食物,以及減少飲用有汽炭酸飲品、含咖啡因及酒精飲品等,亦有助改善胃酸倒流的情況。

3. 生活習慣

如果有吸煙習慣,最好當然是戒煙,無論對於控制胃酸、改善口水分泌,以及強化下食道括約肌也有一定幫助。另外,亦應避免經常穿著緊身衣物,以改善因胃部受壓所造成的胃酸倒流情況。此外,改變睡姿亦是專業醫護推薦的夜間胃酸倒流解決方法之一,透過左側睡或/及把上半身微微傾斜抬高,讓下食道括約肌處於比胃部較高的位置,將有助預防睡覺時胃酸倒流至食道的機會。

4. 體重管理

如果體重偏高,並且有中央肥胖的問題,建議透過飲食控制及恆常運動來減掉大肚腩,以減輕大肚腩給胃部帶來的壓力,減少因胃部受壓而導致的胃酸倒流症狀。在減重期間想改善睡覺時出現的胃酸倒流問題,可於睡覺時配合左側睡睡姿,這樣不但可以改善仰睡時大肚腩讓胃部受壓的問題,亦可以讓下食道括約肌處於比胃部較高位置,是專業醫護們都推薦的夜間胃酸倒流解決方法。

5. 手術治療

手術始終屬於入侵性的胃酸倒流解決方法,除非您是經過醫生處方的藥物治療後仍然無法控制病情的嚴重患者,或不想持續長期服藥以控制病情的患者,還有在改善飲食及生活習慣後胃酸倒流問題仍然無法解決的患者,才需要考慮接受手術治療,如:胃底折疊術,以收緊下食道括約肌及增加食道下方的阻力。

whats_your_sleep_disorder - 03 ZZ icon.p

了解更多非藥物治療的夜間胃酸倒流解決方法:胃食道反流治療枕側睡枕

以上資訊只供參考。如果您有任何健康問題,請向您的醫生查詢。

 

資料來源:[1] Person E, Rife C, Freeman J, Clark A, Castell DO. A Novel Sleep Positioning Device Reduces Gastroesophageal Reflux: A Randomized Controlled Trial. J Clin Gastroenterol. 2015;49(8):655-659. [2] Tan VP, Wong BC, Wong WM, et al. Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease: Cross-Sectional Study Demonstrating Rising Prevalence in a Chinese Population. J Clin Gastroenterol. 2016;50(1):e1-e7. [3] Shaker R, Castell DO, Schoenfeld PS, Spechler SJ. Nighttimeheartburn is an under-appreciated clinical problem that impacts sleep and daytime function: the results of a Gallup survey conducted on behalf ofthe American Gastroenterological Association. Am J Gastroenterol. 2003;98(7):1487-1493. [4] Vaezi MF, Fass R, Vakil N, et al. IW-3718 Reduces HeartburnSeverity in Patients With Refractory Gastroesophageal Reflux Disease in a Randomized Trial. Gastroenterology. 2020;158(8):2093-2103. [5] Green BT, Broughton WA, O'Connor JB. Marked improvement in nocturnal gastroesophageal reflux in a large cohort of patients with obstructive sleep apnea treated with continuous positive airwaypressure. Arch Intern Med. 2003;163(1):41-45.

有關胃酸倒流及舒緩方法 - 常見問題: