WYSD_01_snoring_13noZ.jpg

Snoring

If you are frequently bothered by you and your partner’s snoring problem, and having the risk factors like high blood pressure & obesity, you may do the risk assessment quiz or a sleep screening test to evaluate your partner’s risk of sleep apnea.

WYSD_snoring_03_icon.png
WYSD_snoring_02_icon.png

45% of men &

25% of women reporting habitual snoring

40% women are forced to sleep in separate room because of partner's snoring

WYSD_01_snoring_zzz.gif
WYSD_snoring_04_icon.png

87% habitual snorers have OSA, with a mean max. snoring intensity 52dB

WYSD_sleeptestbutton_sleepapnea.png
WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar1.png

01 | Snoring & Sleep Quality

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar2.png

02 | Where Snoring Comes from?

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar1.png

03 | Is My Snoring a Severe Problem?

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar2.png

04 | Causes of Snoring

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar1.png

05 | Ways to Alleviate Snoring

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar2.png

06 | How Snoring Affects Your Life?

 
WYSDseo_snoring_06_image.png
WYSDseo_snoring_06_image_animation.gif

Snoring & Sleep Quality

WYSDseo_snoring_07_icon.png
Snoring may be the worst enemy that affects our sleep quality. About half of people snore at some point in their lives. Severe snoring volumes can be as loud as 60 decibels, which is similar to the noise made by washing machines. Although snoring is generally not considered a sleep disorder, if your partner often makes thunderous snores, you may need to pay attention to your sleep quality and his/her health condition.
WYSDseo_snoring_08_icon.png
In a survey that interviewed 500 women, it was found that half of the respondents are woken up at least once a night by their partner’s snoring, which has affected their sleep quality.
WYSDseo_snoring_09_icon.png
In addition, studies have pointed out that 87% of habitual snorers have obstructive sleep apnea. If they do not receive any proper treatment for a long time, they may increase the risk of fatal chronic diseases, such as high blood pressure, heart disease, stroke, diabetes, etc. This shows that snoring is absolutely inseparable from sleep quality and sleep health.
 

Where Snoring Comes From?

WYSDseo_snoring_10_graphic.png

Snoring can be created in the nose or/and the back of the throat. When we sleep, all of the muscles in our body become relaxed, including the muscles and soft tissues in our nose and throat, which will block and narrow the airway. When inhaled air passes through the narrowed airway and hits the muscles and soft tissues around the throat, it will vibrate and cause snoring. The relaxer the muscles, the more the vibration, and the louder the sound of snoring.

WYSDseo_snoring_11_image.jpg

Is My Snoring Severe?

The severity of snoring can depend on the frequency, volume, and type of snoring.

 
WYSDseo_snoring_12_icon.png

Mild or Intermittent Snoring

Regardless of gender and age, snoring occurs in most people, and generally does not require any treatment.

WYSDseo_snoring_13_icon.png

Normal Snoring

Snoring occurs several nights per week, it can be a nuisance to your partner, even disrupt the sleep quality for both of you.

WYSDseo_snoring_14_icon.png

OSA-Related Snoring

In addition to more frequent occurrences, the snoring volume is also louder, indicating that the airway may be blocked. If it is accompanied by the following conditions, including: breathing difficulties or thunderous snoring during sleep, daytime sleepiness, tiredness, or high blood pressure. This kind of snoring indicates that the risk of suffering from sleep disorders will increase, and it is necessary to seek treatment from a doctor or medical professional as soon as possible.

If snoring volume is to be used to classify the severity of snoring, some clinical studies are using the following classification:

Mild

Severe

WYSDseo_snoring_15_graphic.png

Moderate

The volume of snoring is closely related to the obstruction of the airway. It is generally believed that the higher the volume of snoring, the more serious the obstruction of the airway. Studies have shown that snoring above 50dB is closely related to sleep apnea.

Causes of Snoring

It is necessary to understand the causes of snoring in order to find a more effective way to improve snoring and sleep quality. To effectively prevent and improve snoring, you should review your daily habits, physiological and physical changes. The following are some common factors that increase the risk of snoring.

WYSDseo_snoring_16_graphic.png
 

(A) Structural Abnormalities in Throat

WYSDseo_snoring_17_graphic.png

When we breathe, the air enters into our lungs through the throat and the airway. Therefore, if the throat structure is abnormal and blocks the airway, the air cannot pass smoothly, and has a chance to knock against the related soft tissues, causing the soft tissues to vibrate, and finally make the noise of snoring.

WYSDseo_snoring_18_graphic.png

Thick Soft Palate

WYSDseo_snoring_19_graphic.png

Swollen Uvula

WYSDseo_snoring_20_graphic.png

Large Tongue

WYSDseo_snoring_21_graphic.png

Enlarged Tonsils

* If doctor diagnoses that the structure of your nasal passages is abnormal, it may be necessary to combine surgery as part of your treatment to solve your snoring problem.

(B) Structural Abnormalities in Nasal Passages

WYSDseo_snoring_22_graphic.png

The cause of this type of snoring is similar to that of the throat. When we breathe through the nose, air will pass through the nasal passage and airway into the lungs. If the structure of the nasal passage is abnormal and be blocked, the air may knock against the related soft tissues which will produce vibration and cause snoring.

WYSDseo_snoring_23_graphic.jpg

Deviated Septum

WYSDseo_snoring_24_graphic.jpg

Inferior Turbinate Hypertrophy

WYSDseo_snoring_25_graphic.jpg

Nasal Valve Collapse

WYSDseo_snoring_26_graphic.jpg

Nasal Polyps

* If doctor diagnoses that the structure of your nasal passages is abnormal, it may be necessary to combine surgery as part of your treatment to solve your snoring problem.

(C) Cold, Flu & Allergies

WYSDseo_snoring_27_graphic.png

When we have colds or allergies, we often have nasal congestion. Snoring caused by nasal congestion is mainly due to inflammation that swells the blood vessels or soft tissues in the nose, which narrows the nasal passages. When the air cannot pass through the narrow nasal passages smoothly and hits the swollen tissue in the nose, it will vibrate and cause snoring.

(D) Sleeping Positions

WYSDseo_snoring_28_graphic.png

Snoring has a very close relationship with sleeping position. When sleeping on the back, the uvula and the tongue will slide to the throat due to the gravitation, which causing the airway to be blocked. When the inhaled air hits the uvula and vibrates, it will cause snoring. Talking about the sleeping position, I believe many of you have had similar experience that when your partner makes noisy snore, you may nudge him/her to change his/her sleeping position from back to side, and the snoring will be reduced immediately. This is because when sleeping on the side, the uvula, tongue and soft tissues that blocked the airway will less likely to fall towards the back and press on the airway. Therefore, side sleeping is an ideal sleeping position for improving snoring.

(E) Obesity

When there is too much fat in the neck area, the airway will become narrow. In addition, the fat will collapse due to gravitation and blocked the airway, which makes the inhaled air cannot pass through smoothly, and the chance of snoring will be greatly increased. It is recommended to lose weight to improve snoring as well as sleep quality.

WYSDseo_snoring_29_graphic.png

(F) Age

WYSDseo_snoring_30_graphic.png

Although snoring can occur at any age, the risk of snoring will increase as we age. It is because the muscle tone decreases, which includes the muscles surround the airway. When the muscles are no longer able to support and keep the airway open during sleep, it will cause snoring.

(G) Drinking & Smoking

WYSDseo_snoring_31_graphic.png

The nicotine in cigarettes irritates nose and throat, causing the upper airway to be narrowed due to the swelling in inflamed tissues. Alcohol will relax the muscle surround the throat, which will increase the chance of airway obstruction. Therefore, to relieve and improve snoring, you should give up the habit of drinking and smoking.

(H) Pregnant

WYSDseo_snoring_32_graphic.png

Snoring is a common problem during pregnancy. In addition to being affected by hormones, the increase amount of blood is also one of the reasons, which causing the blood vessels to expand. This can lead to swollen nasal passages, and increasing the chance of snoring. In the final trimester, due to weight gain, the fat accumulated around the neck may collapse due to gravity during sleep, and blocking part of the airway, which makes breathing become difficult, and cause snoring.

WYSDseo_snoring_33_graphic.jpg

Did You Know

Mattress & Pillow may be the ROOT CAUSE of Snoring?

WYSDseo_snoring_34_textarea.png
WYSDseo_snoring_34_textarea.png

Dust Mite in

Mattress & Pillow

leading to allergies,

nasal congestion and

increased snoring.

Pillow without

adequate support

for neck and head

leading throat muscles

collapse & increase

Snoring

WYSDseo_snoring_35_photo.jpg

Ways to Alleviate Snoring

 
WYSDseo_snoring_36_photo.jpg

(A) Use Anti-Snoring Mouthpiece

Anti-snoring mouthpiece is one of the methods used by Dental Sleep Specialist to treat their patients’ snoring issues for years. This method can address the root cause of snoring. Wearing anti-snoring mouthpiece during sleep can move the lower jaw slightly forward, in order to widen the airway and effectively alleviate the snoring sound. There are customized or ready-made options on the market. If this is your first time to use anti-snoring mouthpiece, it is generally recommended that you buy the ready-made one as a trial to experience the feeling at a relatively reasonable price.

WYSDseo_snoring_37_photo.jpg

(B) Sleep On Side & Raise Up the Upper Body

Due to gravity, sleeping on your back will cause the uvula and the tongue to slide back toward the throat. When the inhaled air hits the uvula that blocks the airway and vibrates, snoring will occur. Therefore, doctors generally recommend that sleeping on the side is an effective sleeping posture for snorers, to reduce the chance of narrowing of the airway due to the collapse of the uvula, tongue, loose muscles/soft tissues, thereby improving the problem of snoring. However, it is not easy to change the sleeping posture through personal will, so you need a body pillow as an aid to gently support your back, to maintain an effectively reduce snoring sleeping posture throughout the night.

WYSDseo_snoring_38_photo.jpg

(C) Use Nasal Dilator

In addition to the throat problems, obstruction of the nasal passages is also one of the causes of snoring. Allergic rhinitis, colds or flus can cause the blood vessels or tissues in the nose swell due to the inflammation, and make the nasal passages become narrow. When the inhaled air hits the swollen blood vessels or tissues in the nose and generates vibrations, it will form snoring. The nasal dilator can effectively open the narrow nasal passages, making it easier for air to pass, thereby improving the problem of snoring caused by nasal congestion.

WYSDseo_snoring_39_photo.jpg

(D) Clear Your Sinuses

Dust and allergens in the nose may be one of the causes of long-term nasal congestion. If you want to improve snoring caused by nasal congestion, you may need to clean the nasal passages with saline solution regularly to remove dust and allergens accumulated in the nose, including pollen, pet hair, dust mites, etc., to help you get back to breathing normally and smoothly again.

WYSDseo_snoring_40_photo.jpg

(E) Avoid Alcohol & Quit Smoking

The soft tissues in nose and throat will become swollen due to the nicotine released from the cigarette, which narrows the nasal passages and the airway. At the same time, secondhand smoke also increases the chance of snoring in other family members. Alcohol will relax the muscles of the airway, lose their elasticity, then they will collapse and block the airway during sleep.

WYSDseo_snoring_41_photo.jpg

(F) Lose Weight

Obese people have higher proportion of body fat. Fat will accumulate around the neck and the airway will become narrow as a result. Therefore, to achieve improvement in snoring, you can improve your daily habits, including: paying attention to diet and exercising regularly, in order to control weight, reduce fat accumulation, and improve the problem of snoring.

WYSDseo_snoring_42_photo.jpg

(G) Surgery

In general, unless snoring is caused by structural abnormalities in the nasal passages and the throat, or other related treatment methods are not effective, surgery is rarely used as the first-line treatment for adults to treat snoring.

 

How Snoring Affects Your Life?

Long-term snoring not only affects the sleep quality of your family, often get complaints from your family, become a joke with your family and friends, and even be forced to sleep alone on the sofa in the living room, sleeping with your partner separately, affecting the intimate relationship.

Most people think that snoring will only cause trouble to the person sleeping next to you. In fact, the person who snores may also be interrupted by his/her own snoring. In addition, the partner may keep "pushing, kicking, slapping and/or punching” you to stop your snoring, then your sleep quality is also severely affected as a result. It is recommended that you should understand the root cause as soon as possible to help you find a suitable way to relieve or improve the problem of snoring.

WYSD_snoring_05_image_12.png

Learn more about the causes & the treatment of snoring

WYSD_snoring_06_image.png
WYSD_download_icon.png

The information above is for reference only, you should consult your doctor if you have any health concern.

 

References: [1] Maimon N, Hanly PJ. Does snoring intensity correlate with the severity of obstructive sleep apnea?. J Clin Sleep Med. 2010;6(5):475-478. [2] Snoring kills the love life, survey reveals. Sleep Health Foundation. https://www.sleephealthfoundation.org.au/?view=article&id=87:snoring-and-sex-life&catid=78. Published October 7, 2010. Accessed March 29, 2021.

About Snoring FAQs

WYSD_01_snoring_13noZ.jpg

​鼻鼾

如果您經常為自己或伴侶的鼻鼾問題感到困擾,更存有肥胖或高血壓等高危因素,您可以先完成免費的評估問卷,再考慮預約接受專業的篩查測試,了解鼻鼾成因及背後可衍生的健康風險。

WYSD_snoring_03_icon.png
WYSD_snoring_02_icon.png

45%男士及25%女士有習慣性打鼾問題

40%女士因伴侶打鼻鼾被迫分房睡

WYSD_01_snoring_zzz.gif
WYSD_snoring_04_icon.png

87%習慣性打鼾人士有睡眠窒息症,平均最高鼻鼾分貝為52dB

WYSD_sleeptestbutton_sleepapnea.png
WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar1.png

01 | 鼻鼾與睡眠質素

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar2.png

02 | 鼻鼾聲從何處來?

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar1.png

03 | 我的鼻鼾嚴重嗎?

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar2.png

04 | 鼻鼾成因

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar1.png

05 | 鼻鼾改善方法

WYSDseo_snoring_05_colourbar2.png

06 | 打鼻鼾的悲哀

 
WYSDseo_snoring_06_image.png
WYSDseo_snoring_06_image_animation.gif

鼻鼾與睡眠質素

WYSDseo_snoring_07_icon.png

鼻鼾可能是影響我們睡眠質素的最大敵人,全球大約50%人口在其一生中曾經打鼻鼾,嚴重的鼻鼾聲可以高達60分貝以上,與洗衣機發出的噪音相約。雖然鼻鼾一般不會被視為睡眠疾病,但如果您的枕邊人經常發出如雷般的鼻鼾聲,您就可能需要關注一下自己的睡眠質素,以及他/她的身體健康。

WYSDseo_snoring_08_icon.png

在一份訪問了500位女士的調查中發現,有一半受訪者表示每晚至少被伴侶的鼻鼾聲吵醒一次,使睡眠質素受到影響。

WYSDseo_snoring_09_icon.png

另外,有研究指出,87%習慣性打鼾人士有阻塞性睡眠窒息症,如果長時間沒有得到適當的治療,可增加患上致命慢性疾病的風險,如:高血壓、心臟病、中風、糖尿病等。由此可見,鼻鼾與睡眠質素及睡眠健康絕對有密不可分的關係。

 

鼻鼾聲從何處來?

WYSDseo_snoring_10_graphic.png

鼻鼾聲可以由鼻腔或/及咽喉發出。當我們進入睡眠狀態,全身的肌肉都會放鬆,包括支撐著我們咽喉及鼻腔呼吸道的肌肉組織。鬆弛下塌的肌肉組織會阻擋呼吸道,令呼吸道變得狹窄。當吸入的空氣經過這狹窄的呼吸道,碰撞到咽喉四周的軟組織,便會產生震動,造成鼻鼾。當肌肉組織越鬆弛,震動就會越強烈,鼻鼾聲就會越大。

WYSDseo_snoring_11_image.jpg

我的鼻鼾嚴重嗎?

鼻鼾的嚴重程度可以取決於鼻鼾的頻密程度、音量及種類。

 
WYSDseo_snoring_12_icon.png

輕微及間歇性鼻鼾

無論男女、年紀,大部分人間中也會出現打鼻鼾的情況,一般無需治療。

WYSDseo_snoring_13_icon.png

一般鼻鼾

一星期有數晚出現打鼻鼾的情況,因為情況頻密,所以對身邊伴侶造成困擾,鼻鼾甚至會影響雙方的睡眠質素。

WYSDseo_snoring_14_icon.png

與睡眠窒息症有關的鼻鼾

除了出現的次數更加頻密之外,鼻鼾聲量亦更大,表示呼吸道可能出現阻塞情況。如果還伴隨著以下情況,包括:睡眠時出現呼吸困難或噴發式的鼻鼾、日間渴睡、疲倦或高血壓,這種鼻鼾表示患上睡眠疾病的風險會增加,需要盡早向醫生或專業人士尋求治療方法。

如果要以鼻鼾音量去劃分鼻鼾的嚴重程度,有些研究會用以下分類:

輕微鼻鼾

嚴重鼻鼾

WYSDseo_snoring_15_graphic.png

中度鼻鼾

鼻鼾音量與呼吸道阻塞情況有密切關係,一般認為鼻鼾音量越高,呼吸道阻塞情況越嚴重。有研究顯示50分貝以上的鼻鼾與睡眠窒息症息息相關。

鼻鼾成因

了解鼻鼾成因,才能更有效找出適合自己的方法去改善鼻鼾,提升睡眠質素。要有效防止及達成鼻鼾改善的目標,您亦應該審視一下自己日常的生活習慣、生理及身體的變化,以下是一些會增加打鼾風險的常見因素。

WYSDseo_snoring_16_graphic.png
 

(一) 咽喉結構異常

WYSDseo_snoring_17_graphic.png

當我們呼吸時,空氣會順著我們的喉嚨向下流動,然後通過氣道進入肺部。因此,如果咽喉結構出現異常,阻擋著氣道,空氣就無法順暢地通過,並有機會因碰撞到相關的軟組織而產生震動,最後發出擾人的鼻鼾聲。

WYSDseo_snoring_18_graphic.png

軟齶肥大

WYSDseo_snoring_19_graphic.png

吊鐘肥大

WYSDseo_snoring_20_graphic.png

舌頭肥大

WYSDseo_snoring_21_graphic.png

扁桃腺增生

(二) 鼻腔結構異常

這類鼻鼾的成因與咽喉的情況一樣,當我們用鼻子呼吸時,空氣會經過鼻腔,再通過氣道進入肺部。如果鼻腔結構出現異常,導致鼻道受阻,空氣經過時就有可能碰觸到相關的軟組織並產生震動,便會形成打鼻鼾問題。

WYSDseo_snoring_23_graphic.jpg

鼻中隔彎曲

WYSDseo_snoring_24_graphic.jpg

下鼻甲肥大

WYSDseo_snoring_25_graphic.jpg

鼻瓣塌陷

WYSDseo_snoring_26_graphic.jpg

鼻息肉

(三) 傷風感冒及過敏

WYSDseo_snoring_27_graphic.png

當我們患上傷風感冒或過敏發作,很多時都會出現鼻塞的情況。因鼻塞而引致的鼻鼾成因主要是由於炎症令鼻腔內的血管或組織出現腫脹,使鼻道變得狹窄。當空氣無法順利地通過狹窄的鼻道,並碰撞到鼻道內腫脹的組織,就會產生震動,造成鼻鼾。

(四) 睡姿

WYSDseo_snoring_28_graphic.png

鼻鼾與睡姿有非常密切的關係。由於仰睡時,懸雍垂(又稱:吊鐘)及舌頭會因地心吸力的關係而滑向咽喉的方向,使呼吸道受阻,當吸入的空氣碰撞到吊鐘並產生震動,就會形成鼻鼾。談及睡姿,相信很多人都曾經試過,當枕邊人發出吵耳的鼻鼾聲時,解決方法就是推一推對方,讓他由仰睡轉為側睡,鼻鼾聲就會即時減輕。這是由於側睡時,阻塞呼吸道的吊鐘、舌頭及軟組織會從仰睡時的中央位置轉移到旁邊,大大減少了呼吸道受阻的情況。因此,側睡是比較理想用作於改善鼻鼾的睡姿。

(五) 肥胖

當頸部的脂肪過多,呼吸道就會變得狹窄,加上睡眠時積聚於頸部的脂肪會因地心吸力而塌下來,阻塞呼吸道,使吸入的空氣無法順利通過,自然令打鼾的機會大大增加。建議及早減重以改善鼻鼾,提升睡眠質素。

WYSDseo_snoring_29_graphic.png

(六) 年齡

WYSDseo_snoring_30_graphic.png

雖然任何年紀都有打鼾的機會,但隨著年齡增長,出現鼻鼾的風險就會增加。出現鼻鼾的原因是由於我們全身的肌肉開始老化,變得鬆弛,呼吸道的肌肉也不例外。當呼吸道的肌肉在睡眠時再也無力支撐及維持呼吸道暢通,就會釀成因空氣碰撞到鬆弛下塌的肌肉而產生的鼻鼾問題。

(七) 煙酒

WYSDseo_snoring_31_graphic.png

煙草釋出的尼古丁會刺激到鼻腔及咽喉,使鼻道及呼吸道因內部組織腫脹而收窄;而酒精則會令咽喉四周的肌肉組織變得鬆弛,增加呼吸道受阻的機會。因此,要舒緩及改善鼻鼾就應該要戒掉煙酒這個習慣。

(八) 懷孕

WYSDseo_snoring_32_graphic.png

鼻鼾是懷孕期間常見的問題,除了由於受到荷爾蒙影響之外,體內血液量增加亦是造成鼻鼾的原因之一。當血液量增加,包括鼻腔內的血管都會因此而擴張,使鼻道變得狹窄,增加打鼾的機會。懷孕後期,更可能會因為體重上升,積聚於頸部的脂肪在睡眠時因地心吸力而下塌,阻擋部分呼吸道,使呼吸變得不順暢,甚至產生鼻鼾,成因及情況就如同肥胖一樣。

WYSDseo_snoring_33_graphic.jpg

您知道嗎?

床褥及枕頭也可能是導致鼻鼾的元兇!

WYSDseo_snoring_34_textarea.png
WYSDseo_snoring_34_textarea.png

匿藏於床褥及

枕頭內的塵蟎

常見的致敏原,

可誘發鼻敏感等

過敏情況,造成鼻塞,

增加打鼾的機會。

枕頭的

承托力不足,

頭頸沒有得到適當的

支撐,頭部就會因而前傾,

擠壓頸部,使咽喉通道

受阻,打鼾的機會

就會增加。

WYSDseo_snoring_35_photo.jpg

鼻鼾改善方法

 
WYSDseo_snoring_36_photo.jpg

(一) 使用止鼻鼾牙膠

止鼻鼾牙膠是睡眠科醫生及牙醫多年來一直用作改善大眾鼻鼾問題的方法之一。這個方法能夠針對鼻鼾的根源問題,改善呼吸道狹窄的情況。在睡眠時佩戴牙膠,把其套在上下排牙齒上,能夠即時調整下顎位置,透過微微拉出下顎,以打開被鬆弛的肌肉或軟組織阻擋而變得狹窄的呼吸道,讓呼吸道回復暢通,便能夠大大減輕擾人的鼻鼾聲,有效解決相關問題。市面上有訂製或現成的止鼻鼾牙膠選擇,如果第一次使用止鼻鼾牙膠,一般建議大家可以先購買現成的,以比較相宜的價錢體驗一下其感覺及成效。

WYSDseo_snoring_37_photo.jpg

(二) 側睡及輕微抬高上半身

由於地心吸力的關係,仰睡會使懸雍垂(又稱:吊鐘)及舌頭向後滑向咽喉方向,當吸入的空氣碰撞到阻擋呼吸道的吊鐘並產生震動,就會形成鼻鼾。因此,醫生一般會建議側睡為有效的改善鼻鼾睡姿,以減少呼吸道因吊鐘、舌頭、鬆弛的肌肉及軟組織下塌而收窄的機會,從而改善鼻鼾問題。然而,透過個人的意志來改變睡姿從而達至鼻鼾改善並不容易,所以需要側睡枕作為輔助,溫和地支撐背部,配合環抱的動作,讓您整晚能夠輕鬆地維持在有效減輕鼻鼾的睡姿,亦即是側睡的狀態。此外,以額外的枕頭或楔形枕把上半身輕微抬高,亦有助舒緩鼻鼾問題。

WYSDseo_snoring_38_photo.jpg

(三) 使用鼻道擴張器

除了咽喉的問題之外,鼻道受阻亦是鼻鼾成因之一。常見的鼻敏感或傷風感冒均會導致鼻腔內的血管或組織因炎症而出現腫脹,令鼻道變得狹窄,當吸入的空氣撞擊到鼻道內腫脹的血管或組織並產生震動,就會形成鼻鼾。而鼻道擴張器可有效撐開狹窄的鼻道,使空氣更容易通過,從而改善因鼻塞而引起的鼻鼾問題。

WYSDseo_snoring_39_photo.jpg

(四) 清潔鼻腔

鼻腔內的灰塵及致敏原可能是導致長期鼻塞的原因之一。如果想改善因鼻塞而引起的鼻鼾,您可能需要定期使用生理鹽水清潔鼻腔,去除累積在鼻腔內的灰塵及致敏原,包括:花粉、寵物毛髮、塵蟎等,讓鼻道回復暢通。

WYSDseo_snoring_40_photo.jpg

(五) 避免煙酒

鼻腔及咽喉內的軟組織會因受到煙草釋出的尼古丁刺激而變得腫脹,使鼻道及呼吸道變得狹窄;同時,二手煙亦會增加家庭其他成員出現鼻鼾的機會。而酒精則會令呼吸道的肌肉鬆弛,失去彈性,在睡眠時阻擋呼吸道。因此,煙酒這個壞習慣長遠不但危害健康,更會加劇鼻鼾的問題,嚴重影響自己及枕邊人的睡眠質素。

WYSDseo_snoring_41_photo.jpg

(六) 減重

肥胖人士體內的脂肪比例較高,脂肪會在頸部四周累積,呼吸道會因此而變得狹窄。所以,要達至鼻鼾改善,可以透過改善日常生活習慣,包括:注意飲食及恆常運動,以控制體重,減少脂肪積聚,改善打鼾的情況。

WYSDseo_snoring_42_photo.jpg

(七) 手術

一般來說,除非是因為鼻腔或咽喉結構異常造成的鼻鼾,或其他治療方法沒有成效,否則外科手術甚少作為成年人治療鼻鼾的一線治療方案。

 

鼻鼾的悲哀

長期打鼻鼾不但會影響家人的睡眠質素、經常被家人投訴,亦可能成為家人朋友茶餘飯後的笑話,甚至被迫晚晚做「廳長」,與伴侶分房而睡,影響親密關係。

大多數人以為鼻鼾聲只會對枕邊人造成困擾,其實打鼻鼾的當事人亦可能會被自己的鼻鼾聲打斷睡眠,再加上身邊伴侶為遏止鼻鼾聲而發動的「推、碰、拍、打」,發出鼻鼾聲的當事人的睡眠質素,可能與身邊人也不遑多讓。建議及早了解自己的鼻鼾成因,以助找出適合的舒緩或改善方法。

WYSD_snoring_05_image_12.png

了解鼻鼾的成因及治療方法

WYSD_download_icon.png

以上資訊只供參考。如果您有任何健康問題,請向您的醫生查詢。

 

資料來源:[1] Maimon N, Hanly PJ. Does snoring intensity correlate with the severity of obstructive sleep apnea?. J Clin Sleep Med. 2010;6(5):475-478. [2] Snoring kills the love life, survey reveals. Sleep Health Foundation. https://www.sleephealthfoundation.org.au/?view=article&id=87:snoring-and-sex-life&catid=78. Published October 7, 2010. Accessed March 29, 2021.