WYSD_02_sleepapnea_12.jpg

Sleep Apnea

Sleep Apnea is a disease that must be treated. Although CPAP is considered the gold standard treatment, you still have other therapy options to treat your sleep apnea if you cannot accept or adhere to CPAP.

WYSD_sleepapnea_03_icon.png
WYSD_sleepapnea_02_icon.png

2-4 times higher risk of AFib in people with sleep apnea

2 times higher risk of stroke in people with severe, untreated sleep apnea

WYSD_02_sleepapnea_animation.gif
WYSD_sleepapnea_04_icon.png

2 times higher risk of dying from heart diseases for severe, untreated sleep apnea

WYSD_sleeptestbutton_sleepapnea.png
WYSD_sleeptestbutton_sleepiness.png
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

01 | About Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

02 | Types of Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

03 | Is Sleep Apnea Common in HK?

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

04 | Symptoms of Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

05 | Risk Factors of Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

06 | How Sleep Apnea Affects Health?

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

07 | Causes of Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

08 | How to Diagnose Sleep Apnea?

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

09 | Sleep Apnea Treatment Options

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

10 | Lifestyle Changes to Improve OSA

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_06_image.jpg

About Sleep Apnea

 
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_07_icon.png

Sleep apnea is a kind of sleep breathing disorders. If you don’t get proper treatment for a long time, the organs will increase the risk of failure due to not getting enough oxygen every night. It will also increase the risk of having fatal chronic diseases, such as hypertension, diabetes and stroke. Therefore, sleep apnea is a common sleep disorder that must be treated as soon as possible.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_08_icon.png

Patients with sleep apnea would repeatedly stop breathing during their sleep, the duration of each apnea can be as long as one minute, and the numbers of apnea can be as many as hundred times throughout the night! If you observe the sleep of a patient with sleep apnea, you will find that the patient making gasping, and the brain would also be awakened due to lack of oxygen. Until the patient's breathing returns to normal, he/she needs to slowly re-enter deep sleep from the light sleep that was almost awakened. When this happens every hour during sleep, it will seriously affect your health. This is because the deep sleep that helps the body repair is constantly being destroyed, and often return to light sleep shortly after entering deep sleep because of apnea, which cause the patient to have some symptoms, such as excessive daytime sleepiness, difficulty in concentration and poor memory.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_09_icon.png

According to the guideline of the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM), apnea during sleep that lasts for 10 seconds or more is regarded as one apnea, and 5 or more apneas per hour are defined as sleep apnea. The severity of sleep apnea is based on the number of apnea hypopnea index (AHI). 5-10 times per hour is “mild”, 15-30 times per hour is “moderate”, and 30 times or above per hour is “severe”.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_10_graphic.png

Types of Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_11_icon.png

Obstructive Sleep Apnea

Up to 90% of patients with sleep apnea are obstructive sleep apnea. The cause of obstructive sleep apnea is that when the patient is sleeping, the muscles and soft tissues around the throat relax and collapse and block the airway, which narrows the airway and causes apnea.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_12_icon.png

Central Sleep Apnea

Different from obstructive sleep apnea, the airway of patients with central sleep apnea have not be blocked. Their apnea issue is caused by the damage of the brain due to the problems of stroke or head trauma, which causes the brain and the muscles that control breathing fail to function normally, and the brain is unable to give breathing instructions to the body, resulting in shortness of breath and/or apnea.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_13_icon.png

Mixed Sleep Apnea

As the name suggests, when a patient has both obstructive and central sleep apnea, it is called mixed sleep apnea.

 
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_14_photo.jpg

Is Sleep Apnea
Common in Hong Kong?

 

According to the data from the Hong Kong Government, there are more than 200,000 people in Hong Kong suffering from sleep apnea. Among them, middle-aged men are more common, and people with obesity are also at high risk. In addition, a study conducted jointly by Australia and Hong Kong found that Asians are generally at higher risk of suffering from sleep apnea than whites, which is related to the facial bone structure of Asians. Even though the BMI of the patients participating in the study is similar, because the jawbone of Asian patients is relatively short, the symptoms of sleep apnea are more severe than whites.

Symptoms of Sleep Apnea

People with sleep apnea usually have some of the following symptoms.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_16_graphic.png

During Sleep:

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Loud and intermittent snoring.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Difficult to breathe, even necessary to use mouth to breathe.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Episodes of stop breathing have been observed by family.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Frequent need to wake up to urinate (Nocturia).

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_18_graphic.png

After Waking Up:

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Dry mouth or headache.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Often feel tired, even have excessive sleepiness.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Often fall asleep unconsciously.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Slow reaction and find it hard to concentrate.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Irritability and have mood swings.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

Cognitive decline.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_15_graphic.png
 
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_19_photo.jpg

Risk Factors of Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_20_icon.png
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_21_icon.png
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_22_icon.png
 

Elderly

(50 years old or above)

Obesity or

Large Neck Circumference

Short

Chin or Jaw

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_23_icon.png

Enlarged Tonsils

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_24_icon.png

Suffer from

High Blood Pressure

How Sleep Apnea
Affects Your Health?

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_25_graphic.png

When suffering from sleep apnea, the “cumulative effect” will occur. If the patient does not receive proper treatment for a long time, the risk of suffering from other serious and fetal diseases will increase, and even worsen the original health problems.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_26_icon.png

30-40%

Hypertension

Patients have

Obstructive Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_28_icon.png

7 out of 10 patients with

Type 2 Diabetes

have Obstructive Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_30_icon.png

2X higher risk of dying from 

Heart Diseases

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_27_icon.png

85%

Resistant

Hypertension

Patients have Sleep Apnea

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_29_icon.png

2X higher risk of

Stroke

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_31_icon.png

2-4X higher risk of

Atrial Fibrillation

Did You Know

Since one of the symptoms of Sleep Apnea is excessive daytime sleepiness, studies have found:

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_32_graphic_2.png
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_32_graphic_1.png

2.5 times

as likely to be

the driver in a

Motor Vehicle

Accident

When CPAP

Treatment

was used, the risk

was reduced by

70%

 
 

Causes of Sleep Apnea

Sleep apnea is caused by abnormalities in the upper airway such as the nose and throat, or the muscles or soft tissues that support the upper airway become loose, causing them to collapse under the influence of gravity when lying down, blocking the airway and causing brief pauses in breathing. If you are detail-oriented, you will understand why people with sleep apnea almost all have serious snoring problems. It is because the obstructed airway is also one of the causes of snoring. When the inhaled air hits the collapsed throat muscles or soft tissues and vibrates, snoring will occur. Therefore, the more severe the obstruction of the airway, the greater the volume of snoring, and the more severe of apnea. This also explains why snoring is one of the symptoms of sleep apnea.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_33_icon.png

Normal Breathing

Air can smoothly pass through the airway into the lungs.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_34_icon.png

Normal People Sleeping

Just like normal breathing, the inhaled air will pass through the turbinates, uvula, and tongue. Even though the muscles will relax during sleep and be affected by gravity, there is still enough space for the inhaled air enter the lungs through the airway.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_35_icon.png

Sleep Apnea Patients Sleeping

Due to the relaxation of the soft tissues and muscles in the airway and the influence of gravity, the inhaled air cannot pass through smoothly. At least one part of the upper airway is blocked (the green dot), causing apnea and/or hypopnea.

How to Diagnose Sleep Apnea?

Doctors will generally evaluate your sleep through interview, and may ask you to complete two self-assessments: STOP BANG and ESS. The questions in the assessments are all designed for the symptoms of sleep apnea, which is helpful for the doctor’s initial evaluation about your risk of sleep apnea. If the initial evaluation is medium to high risk, the doctor will generally recommend you to take a sleep test, which will keep measuring and recording your sleep throughout the night. You can get objective data, including: Apnea-Hypopnea Index (AHI), the duration of each apnea, blood oxygen level, heart rate, etc., in order to know whether you are suffering from sleep apnea, and to provide you with suitable treatment.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_36_graphic.png
 
 

Sleep Apnea Treatment Options

At present, there is no treatment that can completely cure sleep apnea, the situation is the same as the treatment of myopia. Patients with myopia must wear glasses, while patients with sleep apnea must wear CPAP or oral appliance. In addition, even if you choose the surgical treatment, it is not once and for all, the soft tissues in the airway will still have a chance to regenerate or/and relax again in the future, causing relapse of sleep apnea.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_37_graphic.png

(A) CPAP Therapy

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_38_icon.png

CPAP is the gold standard treatment suitable for patients with mild to severe sleep apnea. It can effectively treat the problem of airway obstruction. For some patients, it can significantly improve the symptoms of sleep apnea, such as frequent nocturia and daytime sleepiness. The principle is based on the root cause of sleep apnea, using air pressure to open the obstructed airway, so that the patient’s breathing can be restored, so as to achieve the goal of improving the symptoms of sleep apnea.

(B) Oral Appliance Therapy

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_39_icon.png

In general, oral appliance therapy is only suitable for patients with mild sleep apnea. For patients with moderate to severe sleep apnea, the therapeutic effect is usually not significant. In terms of use, the oral appliance therapy is relatively simple and convenient. You only need to correctly place the mouthpiece on the upper and lower teeth, which will pull the lower jaw slightly and effectively maintain the airway open, in order to improve the symptoms of sleep apnea.

(C) Positional Therapy

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_40_icon.png

Due to gravity, the tongue, uvula and soft palate will slide back to the back of the throat when we sleeping on our backs, the airway may be blocked and increasing the chance of apnea. Therefore, by using the sleep apnea treatment products, such as body pillow and vibro-tactile sleep belt, they will help patients maintain an ideal side sleeping position throughout the night and reduce apnea caused by sleeping on their backs.

(D) Surgical Treatments

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_41_icon.png

In some patients, sleep apnea is caused by structural abnormalities in the nose or throat. In this case, you can choose to receive related sleep apnea surgery as one of your treatment methods. Sleep apnea surgery will mainly remove or correct the tissues or facial bones that obstructed the airway, so that the airway can be restored to unblock, so as to improve the symptoms of sleep apnea. However, the removed tissue may be at risk of regeneration in the future, and sleep apnea will return again.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_42_photo.jpg

Lifestyle Changes
To Improve 
Sleep Apnea

 

When sleeping on the back, the soft tissues of the airway will collapse under the influence of gravity. The more severe the obstruction of the airway, the more severe the symptoms of sleep apnea. Therefore, replacing sleeping on the back with side sleeping will help achieve the goal of improving sleep apnea. However, it is not easy to rely on personal will to maintain side sleeping during sleep, so many people will choose a body pillow as an aid to reduce the chance of sleeping on the back.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_44_image.jpg

(B) Alter Your Sleep Position

Alcohol will relax the throat muscles, and smoking will cause the soft tissues in the airway become swollen due to irritation. Therefore, the habit of drinking and smoking can make the symptoms of sleep apnea worse. For the sake of health, we should quit drinking and smoking as soon as possible. If you really want to have a drink with family and friends, you should also try to avoid drinking within 3 hours before going to bed to reduce the chance of apnea.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_45_image.jpg

(C) Avoid Alcohol & Smoking

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_46_image.jpg

(D) Avoid Certain Medications

Many medicines, such as sleeping pills, can relax the muscles. Therefore, after the diagnosis of sleep apnea, patients should communicate with their doctors to find out if any of the medicines taken daily in the past will exacerbate the problem of sleep apnea, and check if you need to stop taking or use other medicines instead.

The fat accumulated around the neck of obese people narrows the airway. Also, when lying down and sleeping, the body muscles will relax, the fat and the relaxed muscles would be affected by the force of gravity, causing the airway to be blocked and increase the risk of sleep apnea. Therefore, weight loss is definitely helpful for improving the symptoms of sleep apnea. A study has pointed out that a 10% weight loss predicted a 26% decrease in AHI. For CPAP users, it means that the air pressure of the CPAP may also be reduced due to successful weight loss, which means CPAP treatment will become relatively comfortable.

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_43_image.jpg

(A) Lose Excess Weight

WYSD_sleepapnea_05_image_11.jpg

Learn more about the symptoms, impacts & treatment of sleep apnea

WYSD_sleepapnea_06_image.png
WYSD_download_icon.png

The information above is for reference only, you should consult your doctor if you have any health concern.

 

References: [1] Sleep Apnea Hurts Hearts Infographic. American Academy of Sleep Medicine. http://www.sleepeducation.org/docs/infographics/sleep-apnea-hurts-hearts.pdf?sfvrsn=2. Published 2017. [2] Tung P, Anter E. Atrial Fibrillation And Sleep Apnea: Considerations For A Dual Epidemic. J Atr Fibrillation. 2016;8(6):1283. Published 2016 Apr 30. [3] Wang X, Ouyang Y, Wang Z, Zhao G, Liu L, Bi Y. Obstructive sleep apnea and risk of cardiovascular disease and all-cause mortality: a meta-analysis of prospective cohort studies. Int J Cardiol. 2013;169(3):207-214. [4] Fu Y, Xia Y, Yi H, Xu H, Guan J, Yin S. Meta-analysis of all-cause and cardiovascular mortality in obstructive sleep apnea with or without continuous positive airway pressure treatment. Sleep Breath. 2017;21(1):181-189. [5] 消費者委員會:〈睡眠窒息症不容忽視 嚴選呼吸機助改善睡眠質素〉,2016年1月14日。取自https://www.consumer.org.hk/ws_chi/news/press/471/sleep-apnea-breathing-machines.html,2021年3月29日擷取。[6] 青山醫院精神健康學院:〈睡眠窒息症〉,2011年4月第3版。取自https://www3.ha.org.hk/cph/imh/doc/information/publications/1_10.pdf

About Sleep Apnea - FAQs

WYSD_02_sleepapnea_12.jpg

睡眠窒息症

睡眠窒息症是必須接受治療的慢性疾病,雖然睡眠呼吸機(CPAP)是治療睡眠窒息症的黃金標準,但並不是唯一的治療方法。因此,若您未能接受呼吸機治療,或在試用過後覺得不適合自己,您應該考慮嘗試其他的治療方法來重拾健康。

WYSD_sleepapnea_03_icon.png
WYSD_sleepapnea_02_icon.png

睡眠窒息症人士患上心房顫動風險較常人高2-4

沒有接受治療的嚴重睡眠窒息症患者患上中風的機會高2

WYSD_02_sleepapnea_animation.gif
WYSD_sleepapnea_04_icon.png

沒有接受治療的嚴重睡眠窒息症患者死於心臟病的風險2

WYSD_sleeptestbutton_sleepapnea.png
WYSD_sleeptestbutton_sleepiness.png
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

01 | 關於睡眠窒息症

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

02 | 睡眠窒息症的分類

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

03 | 睡眠窒息症在香港常見嗎?

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

04 | 睡眠窒息症病徵

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

05 | 睡眠窒息症的高危因素

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

06 | 睡眠窒息症如何影響健康?

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

07 | 睡眠窒息症成因

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

08 | 如何診斷睡眠窒息症?

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar1.png

09 | 睡眠窒息症的治療方案

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_05_colourbar2.png

10 | 從日常生活入手的睡眠窒息症改善方法

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_06_image.jpg

關於睡眠窒息症

 
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_07_icon.png

睡眠窒息症是一種睡眠呼吸障礙疾病,如果長期沒有得到適當的治療,體內的器官就會因為每晚沒有得到足夠的氧氣而增加衰竭的風險,亦會增加患上高血壓、糖尿病、中風等可致命的慢性疾病,所以睡眠窒息症是必須盡早接受治療的常見睡眠疾病。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_08_icon.png

睡眠窒息症患者在睡眠期間會出現呼吸暫停的情況,每次呼吸暫停的時間可以長達一分鐘,整晚呼吸暫停的次數亦可以多達數百次!如果在旁觀察睡眠窒息症患者的睡眠狀態,不難發現患者不時會突然因窒息而用力地吸氣,大腦亦會因缺氧而被喚醒以向患者發出警告,直至呼吸回復正常後,患者才能從差點被喚醒的淺睡慢慢再次進入深睡。當這種情況在睡眠期間的每個小時內不斷發生,不但會造成腦部氧氣不足,更會嚴重影響睡眠質素,這是由於有助身體修復的深層睡眠不停被破壞,時常在進入深睡不久後就因無法呼吸而回到淺睡,導致患者出現一些睡眠窒息症病徵,如:日間經常感到疲倦、難以集中精神,以及記憶力下降等等。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_09_icon.png

根據美國睡眠醫學學會(AASM)的國際指引,在睡眠期間出現呼吸暫停並持續10秒或以上為一次窒息,每小時出現5次或以上窒息被界定為睡眠窒息症。而睡眠窒息症的嚴重程度就是透過每小時窒息次數(AHI)作為指標,每小時5-15次為「輕微」,每小時15-30次為「中等」,每小時30次或以上為「嚴重」。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_10_graphic.png

睡眠窒息症的分類

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_11_icon.png

阻塞性睡眠窒息症

高達90%的睡眠窒息症患者屬於阻塞性睡眠窒息症。阻塞性睡眠窒息症成因是患者在睡眠的時候,因咽喉四周的肌肉及軟組織放鬆塌下來阻擋了呼吸道,使呼吸道變得狹窄而造成窒息。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_12_icon.png

中樞性睡眠窒息症

有別於阻塞性睡眠窒息症,中樞性睡眠窒息症患者的呼吸道是暢通的,他們是由於大腦因中風或頭部創傷等問題受損,導致大腦和控制呼吸的肌肉無法正常運作,大腦無法給身體發出呼吸指令,導致呼吸變得短淺而造成窒息。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_13_icon.png

混合性睡眠窒息症

顧名思義,當患者同時出現阻塞性及中樞性睡眠窒息症的情況,就稱之為混合性睡眠窒息症。

 
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_14_photo.jpg

睡眠窒息症
在香港常見嗎?

 

根據香港政府的推算數字顯示,香港有超過200,000人患有睡眠窒息症,當中以中年男士比較多,身形較為肥胖的人士亦是高危一族。此外,有一項由澳洲及香港合作完成的研究發現,亞洲人一般患上睡眠窒息症的風險比白人高,這與亞洲人的面部骨骼結構有關。縱使參與研究的患者們的體重指數(BMI)相近,但由於亞洲患者的顎骨比較短小,所以他們出現呼吸暫停的睡眠窒息症病徵比白人更為嚴重。

睡眠窒息症病徵

睡眠窒息症患者通常會出現以下或部分病徵。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_16_graphic.png

睡眠時:

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

斷斷續續地發出響亮的打鼾聲。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

呼吸不時感到吃力,甚至需要用口幫助呼吸。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

被家人發現呼吸暫停。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

半夜經常需要醒來小便(尿頻)。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_18_graphic.png

起床後:

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

出現口乾或頭痛的情況。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

經常感到疲倦,甚至有嗜睡問題。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

經常不自覺地入睡。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

反應緩慢,難以集中精神。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

心情變得煩躁及易怒。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_17_tickicon.png

認知能力減弱。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_15_graphic.png
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_19_photo.jpg

睡眠窒息症的高危因素

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_20_icon.png
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_21_icon.png
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_22_icon.png
 
 

年長(50歲或以上)

肥胖或頸圍粗大

下巴或下顎短小

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_23_icon.png

扁桃腺肥大

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_24_icon.png

患有高血壓

睡眠窒息症
如何影響健康?

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_25_graphic.png

當患上睡眠窒息症,「累積效應」便會產生。若患者長時間得不到適當的治療,它所造成的後遺症及患上其他嚴重致命疾病的風險就會增加,甚至令原有的健康問題進一步惡化。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_26_icon.png

30-40%

高血壓患者同時患有阻塞性睡眠窒息症

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_28_icon.png

二型糖尿病患者當中,

每10個就有7個同時患有阻塞性睡眠窒息症

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_30_icon.png

死於心臟病的風險較常人高2倍

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_27_icon.png

85%

抗藥性高血壓患者同時患有睡眠窒息症

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_29_icon.png

中風的風險較常人

高2倍

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_31_icon.png

患上心房顫動的風險較常人高2-4倍

您知道嗎?

由於其中一項睡眠窒息症病徵是導致患者在日間出現嚴重嗜睡的情況,因此有研究發現:

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_32_graphic_2.png
WYSDseo_sleepapnea_32_graphic_1.png

睡眠窒息症患者

為交通意外的

肇事司機的

可能性較常人

高2.5倍

患有睡眠窒息症的

司機,在經過呼吸機

治療後,出現交通

意外的風險大大

降低了70%

 
 

睡眠窒息症成因

睡眠窒息症成因是鼻腔、咽喉等上呼吸道位置出現異常,或是支撐上呼吸道的肌肉或軟組織肥大或鬆弛所造成,導致躺臥時受到地心吸力的影響而塌下來,堵塞呼吸道,造成呼吸暫停及短暫的窒息。如果您心思細密的話,您就會明白為何睡眠窒息症患者幾乎都有嚴重的打鼾問題。皆因,受阻的呼吸道同樣是導致打鼾的原因之一。當吸入的空氣撞擊到塌下來的咽喉肌肉或軟組織並產生震動,就會發出打鼾聲。所以,當呼吸道阻塞越嚴重,打鼾聲量就會越大,窒息的情況就可能會越嚴重。這亦解釋了為甚麼打鼾是睡眠窒息症病徵之一。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_33_icon.png

日常呼吸時

空氣能夠順暢地通過呼吸道進入肺部。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_34_icon.png

一般人睡眠時

與日常呼吸時一樣,吸入的空氣會經過鼻甲、懸壅垂(吊鐘)及舌頭等組織位置,縱然睡眠時肌肉會放鬆,並受到地心吸力影響,但仍然有足夠的空間通過呼吸道進入肺部。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_35_icon.png

睡眠窒息症患者睡眠時

由於呼吸道內的肌肉或軟組織肥大或鬆弛,並受到地心吸力影響,吸入的空氣無法順暢地通過,上呼吸道至少有一個部分受阻(綠點位置),造成呼吸暫停及/或呼吸不足。

如何診斷睡眠窒息症

醫生一般會先以問診形式了解您的睡眠狀況,並且有可能會要求您完成STOP BANG及ESS兩份問卷,問卷內的題目全部都是針對睡眠窒息症病徵而設計出來的,有助醫生初步評估您的睡眠窒息症風險。如果初步評估為中至高風險,醫生一般會建議您接受睡眠測試,透過測量及記錄您整晚的睡眠,以取得客觀的生理數據,包括:每小時窒息次數(AHI)、每次窒息持續的時間、血液含氧量、心率等,從而得知您是否患上睡眠窒息症,以及向您提供適合的睡眠窒息症改善方案。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_36_graphic.png
 
 

睡眠窒息症治療方案

目前並沒有一種能夠徹底根治睡眠窒息症的治療方法,情況就如治療近視一樣。近視患者必須配戴眼鏡,而睡眠窒息症患者就必須配戴睡眠呼吸機或牙膠等治療儀器。此外,即使選擇睡眠窒息症手術治療亦非一勞永逸,日後仍然有可能因呼吸道的組織再次鬆弛或增生而復發。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_37_graphic.png

(一)​ 呼吸機治療

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_38_icon.png

醫生一般會先以問診形式了解您的睡眠狀況,並且有可能會要求您完成STOP BANG及ESS兩份問卷,問卷內的題目全部都是針對睡眠窒息症病徵而設計出來的,有助醫生初步評估您的睡眠窒息症風險。如果初步評估為中至高風險,醫生一般會建議您接受睡眠測試,透過測量及記錄您整晚的睡眠,以取得客觀的生理數據,包括:每小時窒息次數(AHI)、每次窒息持續的時間、血液含氧量、心率等,從而得知您是否患上睡眠窒息症,以及向您提供適合的睡眠窒息症改善方案。

(二)​ 牙膠治療

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_39_icon.png

牙膠治療一般只適合輕度睡眠窒息症患者,對於中度至嚴重睡眠窒息症患者,治療效果通常不大顯著。在使用上,牙膠治療相對比較簡單方便,只需要正確地把牙膠套在上下排牙齒,透過輕微把下顎拉出,即有效維持呼吸道暢通,改善睡眠窒息症病徵。

(三) 側睡治療

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_40_icon.png

由於地心吸力的關係,舌頭、懸雍垂(吊鐘)及軟顎組織在仰睡時會向後滑向喉嚨後方,使呼吸道受阻,增加窒息的機會。所以,透過使用側睡枕及電子側睡帶等睡眠窒息症治療產品,將有助患者整晚維持在理想的側睡姿勢,減少因仰睡而引起的窒息問題。

(四) 睡眠窒息症手術治療

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_41_icon.png

有部分患者,他們的睡眠窒息症成因是來自咽喉或鼻腔結構問題,這類情況就可以選擇接受相關的睡眠窒息症手術治療。睡眠窒息症手術會以切除或矯正阻礙呼吸道的組織或面部骨骼為主,使呼吸道能夠回復暢通,以改善睡眠窒息症病徵。但切除的組織日後可能有再次增生的風險,到時候睡眠窒息症的情況又會再次發生。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_42_photo.jpg

從日常生活入手的
睡眠窒息症改善方法

 

仰睡時,呼吸道的組織會受地心吸力影響而塌下來,當呼吸道受阻的情況越嚴重,睡眠窒息症病徵就會越嚴重。所以,以側睡取代仰睡,將有助達到睡眠窒息症改善的目標。不過,如果單靠個人意志讓自己在睡眠期間維持側睡並不容易,所以很多人會選用攬枕作為輔助,以減少仰睡的機會。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_44_image.jpg

(二) 改善睡姿

酒精會令咽喉肌肉變得鬆弛,吸煙則會令呼吸道因受到刺激而變得腫脹,所以煙酒習慣會導致睡眠窒息症徵狀更加嚴重,為了健康著想,應該及早把煙酒戒掉。如果間中真的想與親朋小酌一杯,亦應該盡量避免在睡前3個小時內飲用,以減少睡眠窒息的機會。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_45_image.jpg

(三) 避免煙酒

很多常見的藥物,如:安眠藥,都會讓肌肉放鬆,所以在確診睡眠窒息症後,一般都會建議患者與醫生溝通,了解過往日常服用的藥物中,有沒有哪些會加劇睡眠窒息症的問題,查看是否需要停止服用或使用其他藥物代替。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_46_image.jpg

(四) 注意日常服用的藥物

肥胖人士頸部四周累積的脂肪使呼吸道變得狹窄,加上躺臥睡眠時全身會放鬆,以及受到地心吸力的影響,導致呼吸道進一步受阻,加劇睡眠窒息症的情況。所以,減重對於改善睡眠窒息症病徵絕對有一定的幫助。有研究指出,體重減輕10%可降低26%睡眠窒息次數(AHI),亦即是對於使用呼吸機治療的患者來說,呼吸機的氣壓度數亦有機會因成功減重而減少,這意味著呼吸機治療會相對變得舒適。

WYSDseo_sleepapnea_43_image.jpg

(一) 減重

WYSD_sleepapnea_05_image_11.jpg

了解睡眠窒息症的病徵、對健康的影響及治療方法

WYSD_download_icon.png

以上資訊只供參考。如果您有任何健康問題,請向您的醫生查詢。

 

資料來源:[1] Sleep Apnea Hurts Hearts Infographic. American Academy of Sleep Medicine. http://www.sleepeducation.org/docs/infographics/sleep-apnea-hurts-hearts.pdf?sfvrsn=2. Published 2017. [2] Tung P, Anter E. Atrial Fibrillation And Sleep Apnea: Considerations For A Dual Epidemic. J Atr Fibrillation. 2016;8(6):1283. Published 2016 Apr 30. [3] Wang X, Ouyang Y, Wang Z, Zhao G, Liu L, Bi Y. Obstructive sleep apnea and risk of cardiovascular disease and all-cause mortality: a meta-analysis of prospective cohort studies. Int J Cardiol. 2013;169(3):207-214. [4] Fu Y, Xia Y, Yi H, Xu H, Guan J, Yin S. Meta-analysis of all-cause and cardiovascular mortality in obstructive sleep apnea with or without continuous positive airway pressure treatment. Sleep Breath. 2017;21(1):181-189. [5] 消費者委員會:〈睡眠窒息症不容忽視 嚴選呼吸機助改善睡眠質素〉,2016年1月14日。取自https://www.consumer.org.hk/ws_chi/news/press/471/sleep-apnea-breathing-machines.html,2021年3月29日擷取。[6] 青山醫院精神健康學院:〈睡眠窒息症〉,2011年4月第3版。取自https://www3.ha.org.hk/cph/imh/doc/information/publications/1_10.pdf